Nokia Windows Phone 7.8 Update is now live for all Lumia handsets [UPDATE]

Wohhh…. so many news this weekend. I just got a call from Nokia NPD employee. He said Windows Phone 7.8 update is now available to download on all Lumia phones (not the new wp8 phones of course). He told me to go to Nokia Care on Monday to update my Lumia 610. Though there is no new notification on my phone or on Nokia support page. Maybe they are getting it ready. But its allmost official.

image

He said, along with new start screen, it features bluetooth file sharing addon. He tried a few and told me about it and said it works great but also having a big problem.
He tried sending video from his Nokia e series phone to his lumia via bluetooth. Transfer is done successfully but when he tried playing the video, it says video not supported. I don’t know what exactly the glitch is but I guess its due to lack of support of that file type.

Though he called me on Monday, but I will try to update it tomorrow and will share u more about it.
And yeh i am excited! Are You?
You can call your city Nokia care to fix time for you.
Have a nice day…..

[UPDATE] hi guys, I just called the Nokia Care centre of my city (Sikar, Rajasthan). They told me that at present, the update is not officially announced by Nokia India and also, they do not got any email from Nokia regarding update. They just did a daily check on their official server and found an update available to download, day before yesterday. When they installed it on lumia, it turned out to be Nokia wp7.8 update. As they know my interest in Nokia Phones, so they called me to come and update my phone.
So in short, u can’t manually update your Lumia to 7.8 at home via zune until its officially announced by Nokia India and made available to download via zune. But if you can’t wait, go to nokia care of your city, tell them to update your phone. If they say its not launched, tell them to check their server, its available.
I asked them if I could come and update it today, they said I will be charged for it as its non working day. So I would have to go tomorrow to update my Lumia to wp7.8 officially. Will tell you what’s new tomorrow.
[Update2] Bad news. Update is available for all lumias but not for L610 and unluckily i have 610.

7 thoughts on “Nokia Windows Phone 7.8 Update is now live for all Lumia handsets [UPDATE]

  1. Got my 920 on Friday then headed off on a small weekend vacation where I got to play with my new phone quite a bit. Overall I love it- HOWEVER- I’m majorly disappointed with the camera. I don’t know if I just got a buggy phone or what, but the images are horrible compared to my iphone (which I gave up for this phone). I do professional photography and because of that I’m probably pickier than most, but my biggest gripes come from the comparison of what I’m getting from this phone vs the iphone. The compression seems extreme and the white balance is a mess on most my photos.
    I discussed my problem here http://howmobile.net/nokia/ also but still didn’t get any suggestion. Anyone else disappointed with the images they are getting from the 920? Or any suggestions for me that what should I do???

Don't keep your thoughts, pass on........

